K is for Knitting

I started knitting hats for myself (see A is for Alopecia) but realized, once I watched videos over and over and my fingers and brain made the connection, that I really loved it. I donated over 80 knitted hats at the end of last year to a local shelter and the large national charitable distributor Warm Up America (https://warmupamerica.org/). Since the end of last year, I’ve got over 40 hats completed, and started crocheting blanket squares to donate. Also little soap sacks make from cotton yarn for S.A.C.K., Supporting A Community with Kindness (https://www.soapsacks.com/)

I have a hard time reading a pattern, so I usually just re-write them so I can understand them. Mostly it’s watching videos. Tunisian crochet looked interesting too, so I got some ultra long crochet hooks and some yarn on sale at Joann’s and off I went.

I’ve done nothing fancy yet, just your basic knit 1 purl 2 but I hope to soon. I have yet to accomplish a granny square–I keep giving up over the hopeless mess it becomes, but I’ll get there, lol.

2 thoughts on “K is for Knitting

  1. I never figured out how to knit. I can crochet and my brain just couldn’t manage two needles at once! That is great you donate the hats. You have fun knitting, and they go to a good cause. 

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Nor did I . My gran – foster mother – who could knit in silk with six needles, eyes shut, did her best, knew, better than many teachers, when to give up. Sadly, I can’t even crochet, but I did graduate from mud pies and building dens to dry stone walls. That’s fun too.  

    Liked by 2 people

Comments are closed.