N is for Nervion

I can’t recall who the artist is, but it’s an homage to the wives of the fishermen who used to be away for months at a time fishing cod…

“The 30-foot-tall Maman spider sculpture crawls along the river’s edge just outside the Guggenheim. One of French-American artist Louise Bourgeois’ most ambitious works, the arachnid is cast of bronze and stainless steel, with marble eggs. Crafted as a tribute to her mother, a weaver, it was installed in 1999.” Joshua Mellin

The Guggenheim, built to look like the sails of a ship…

2 thoughts on “N is for Nervion

  1. Although I’ve been to the Guggenheim in Bilbao I didn’t know the story of these sculptures. Will pay more attention when I visit again next month.

    I hope to visit the New York and Abu Dhabi Museums some day.

    Liked by 2 people

Comments are closed.